Return to Headlines

WCCHS Announces 2019-20 Illinois State Scholars

Forty-one seniors from the West Chicago Community High School Class of 2019 have been named Illinois State Scholars.

The State Scholar Program recognizes students attending approved high schools for outstanding academic achievement. Students must perform in the top one-half of their high school class and/or score at or above the 95th percentile on the ACT or SAT. State scholar designation provides honorary recognition with no monetary award. Approximately the top ten percent of graduates from approved high schools are announced as State Scholars each year.

The students named as 2019-20 Illinois State Scholars are, from Carol Stream:  Nora Bell, Eric Benda, Abby Carr, Valarie Johnson, Camryn Liberio, Alexis Maggiore, Carlos Montanez, Hannah Thomas, and Christina Trigueros.

From West Chicago:  Emily Carroso, Colette Castelluccio, Zoe Genabe, Alyssa Guttman, Gianna Hernandez, Adam Hey, Alexander Hey, Jose Hinojoza, Leeba Joseph, Kellen Klapatch, Megan Kordik, Aaron Kus, Garrett Martin, Audrey Miller, Gavin O’Keefe, Joseph Orr, Dipali Patel, Grace Ramirez, Anna Reitz, Jeri Rethford, Delaney Ringe, Nathan Rutledge, Spencer Schramer, Sarah Solver, Carlos Valle, and Michael Wagner.

From Winfield:  Kristen Aalbue, Alexander Gauss, Olivia Haffner, Adelia Hasselgren, Sabrina Lutfiyeva, and Jamie Mazurski.

The Illinois Student Assistance Commission (ISAC), the state agency committed to helping to make college accessible and affordable for Illinois families, bestows this prestigious recognition to top Illinois high school students annually.