• Language Arts Division
     
    As students select courses, they are encouraged to enroll in the most rigorous course possible to best prepare for college and career. Ninth, tenth, and eleventh grades choose a full-year course:
     
    Course Progression
     
    English 1Global StudiesEnglish 1 Honors
    English 2World Studies English 2 Enriched English 2 Honors
    English 3 American Studies English 3 Enriched AP Language and Composition
     
    Seniors elect a full year course - British and World Literature or Advanced Placement Literature and Composition - or choose from a variety of semester-long electives: Creative Writing, Critical Reading, Media and Literature, or Writer's Workshop.
     
    In addition to these core courses, students may also choose electives in broadcast, drama, journalism, and/or speech. Moreover, students are encouraged to reenroll in Advanced Drama, Journalism Production, and Speech if they have great interest in exploring these areas in college or professionally. (Creative Writing may also be taken in addition to senior core courses as an elective.)
     
    You may contact teachers of electives directly with questions:
     

    Broadcast Productions

    Dave Jennings

    djennings@d94.org

    Creative Writing

    Amanda Cordes or

    Tara Deleon

    acordes@d94.org or

    tdeleon@d94.org

    Drama

    Mark Begovich

    mbegovich@d94.org

    Journalism

    Laura Kuehn

    lkuehn@d94.org

    Speech

    Paul Lichy

    plichy@d94.org